Timeline of College History

Janet Clarke Hall was founded in 1886 as the Trinity College Hostel, and later renamed Janet Clarke Hall in honour of its major benefactor Janet, Lady Clarke. The College pioneered collegiate education for women in Australia. It is the oldest residential college for women in Australia and among the oldest in the world. Today as a College 'of and within' the University of Melbourne, Janet Clarke Hall stands for equality of access and opportunity, for women and men, in a full and rewarding university education.

As The University of Melbourne's Vice-Chancellor has noted, Janet Clarke Hall holds 'an enviable reputation for academic achievement and social awareness that will stay with its graduates for 'life'. The College's vision, that as a leading academic college it will provide a supportive and intellectual environment for students, builds upon the founding vision that women would find a supportive space within the University.

The first four students were all provided with scholarships, as the College has sought from its inception to make its collegiate education possible through scholarship or bursary. Janet Clarke Hall is committed to continue fulfilling its role as a leading college within the University, and to providing the best possible environment for students from around Australia and the world to benefit from a Melbourne education

Janet Clarke Hall 1886 -

1886 Dr Alexander Leeper, first Warden of Trinity College, admits the first four resident women to the Trinity College Hostel, at 'Trinity Terrace' on Royal Parade.

> The Rev'd T. Jollie Smith appointed first Principal. He noted that Hostel should 'approximate as closely as possible to the tone and status of a University College'.

1888 Miss Lucy Waltham appointed Principal. Issues under her care include safe carriage of students to and from lectures, and rules surrounding admittance of men to the Hostel.

> Ladies' Council (including Janet, Lady Clarke) established 'to assist in the management of the Hostel'.

Janet, Lady Clarke offers £5,000 towards the building of a permanent house of residence. Mathew Davies offers £2,000. Land allocated on the Trinity site 'next to the present Tradesmen's Avenue'.

- 1889 Emily Eddes appointed Principal. Charles D'Ebro appointed architect for new building.
- 1890 Foundation stone of new building laid as University holiday granted to mark the occasion.

Emily Hensley appointed Principal, to supervise 'the religious, moral and intellectual advancement of the Students who will be under your influence'.

- 1891 Miss Constance Eyres elected first Senior Student (renamed Student Club President in 1973).
- 1891 New building formally opened by Governor, Lord Hopetoun, on 15 April. Miss Hensley speaks of it as 'a credit to the name of all Australian women'.

Ladies' Council submits series of proposals and seeks 'recognised status' from Trinity College Council.

1892 Ladies' Council resigns en masse.

Miss Hensley resigns. Trinity College Hostel Tennis Club established involving students and staff. I. T. Collins appointed Principal.

1897 Trinity College Hostel Club (Student Club) established.

> Janet, Lady Clarke supports creation of Verdon Library (named after Sir George Verdon).

College Visitor is appointed (Lady Clarke, wife of Governor Sir George Sydenham Clarke).

- 1899 Trinity College Women's Society established for past students.
- 1901 Miss Lucy Bateman appointed Principal.
- 1902 Hostel Dramatic Club established for drama and music.
- 1906 Miss Lucy Archer appointed Principal.
- 1918 Horsfall Chapel opens, providing compulsory meeting place for Trinity men and the 'Hostiles' at weekly chapel services.
- 1919 Miss Susie Williams appointed Acting Principal, she names the four terrace houses housing 'overflow' students the Aedes Annexae.

Miss Margery Herring appointed Principal.

1921 Trinity College Hostel renamed 'Janet Clarke Hall'.

> William 'Billie' Robinson appointed college factotum. That year students petition the Principal to 'replace William with a more competent man'; Billie Robinson retains the position until he dies on the job in 1962.

1922 'Great Row' between Principal and Students regarding regulations surrounding 'late leave' and fraternisation with 'Men'

1927 Manifold Wing, gift of W.T. Manifold opens. 1966 College Council elects first Fellows,

Gift made conditional upon requirement for students 'to enter upon and prosecute to the end a course of study, having for its object the obtaining of a diploma or certificate in domestic economy and cooking'.

- 1928 Miss Enid Joske appointed Principal, a position she holds for 25 years.
- 1930 Traill Wing Opens, with balconies for students to sleep out and shared studies.
- 1938 Pedestrian Gate (Christopher Furness Gate) dedicated, having been recovered from the garden of Bishopscourt after removal by 'Trinity men' the night before.
- 1941 Student Club Establishes Music Club and Music Library.
- 1952 Miss Mary Bagnall appointed Principal, opening the College to conference trade out of term time (including the Melbourne Olympics press corps).
- 1956 Enid Joske Wingopens.
- 1958 Dr Helen Knight appointed Acting Principal.
- 1959 Miss (later Sister) Margaret Dewey appointed Principal.
- 1961 Trinity College and Janet Clarke Hall formally separate, in what becomes known as 'The Great Divorce'. Janet Clarke Hall admitted as a 'duly affiliated College' of the University of Melbourne.
- 1962 Lilian Scantlebury Wing Opens with support from Federal and State funding, named in honour of the long serving Chairman of JCH Committee (from 1939-1961).
- 1963 Dr Helen Knight appointed Acting Principal.
- 1964 Dr Eva Eden appointed Principal, a position she holds for 21 years.

honoured for service to the College and wider community.

- 1968 Trinity Women's Society renamed Janet Clarke Hall Past Students' (later Janet Clarke Hall) Society.
- 1973 Eva Eden Common Room opens.

First male residents admitted to the College.

Students found the Tiger Lily Rag (student magazine).

- 1984 Mrs Phyllis Fry appointed Principal.
- 1996 Dr Gail Tulloch appointed Principal.

Fry Rooms opened in Main rooftop cavity.

- 2001 Dr Barbara Fary appointed Acting Principal.
 - Dr Damian Powell appointed Principal.
- 2015 Margaret Henderson House opens, named in honour of former Senior Student, Resident Medical Officer and College Fellow Dr Margaret Henderson OBE